A train, India, and countless stories.

I cannot remember when I traveled in a train for the first time but my mother tells me it must have been when I was a couple of months old. My father, a bank officer, would get transferred every few years and we would set off, discovering new parts of India. And wherever we were, thrice a year we would be on a train to my grandparents' house in Rajahmundry, on the banks of River Godavari.

My affair with trains intensified when I joined boarding school in Bangalore for my 11th and 12th standard. Every term break, I would take a night train to Madras (as it was called then, and still is, in my memories) and change to the Coromandel Express the next morning to Vijayawada. I loved traveling alone, charting out what I would do next. I'd spend most of the eight hours standing or sitting at the door, taking in the beautiful sights of Indian countryside. Filmfare, CineBlitz and other assorted magazines would be devoured alongwith samosas, coffee, dal-vadas and soan papdi.

My English text had Ruskin Bond's Eyes Have It as one of twelve short stories; I had also read his Night Train at Deoli. I dreamt of such romantic encounters on my journeys too, but alas, that wasn't to be. Perhaps I didn't have the finesse of Bond or maybe Dehra and Mussourie were where the action was!

For eight years during my hostel life, I must have made countless journeys. From Bangalore to Vijayawada, Surat and Ahmedabad to Mumbai, Surat to Tirupati and Ahmedabad to Cochin, each was a thrilling adventure. I was a romantic poet in one, I broke a foot in another, I ran barefoot on a platform at midnight looking for chai during a third, I slept under a berth in one other...


As I make this twenty hour journey with my wife and two daughters in the comfort of an AC First Class compartment, in the company of Ruskin Bond's Short Stories, I cannot but feel nostalgic about the journeys that shaped my youth.

6 responses
It makes nostalgic to remember train journeys 15-20 years back in Sleeper class or general class with all the chatter fun and real experience of true India. Now travelling in AC makes it so dull and a staid experience that you at least for once want to relive those memories of sipping tea sitting on the steps of the train or trying to find a space to fit in a train packed to hilt during festive season - just clamoring to make sure you reach home from your hostel in time for the togetherness.
@Umesh: Watch this space for some more train stories that will take you back to those days... :-)
They are beautiful and nostalgic when viewed from the comforts of today. This nostalgic going back is one pleasure many indulge in with an air of ' I have been there and seen it all, but they are all no good, no any better, on the other had, the old ( of course, that is the present "other" world) was beautiful, simple, innocent and above all carefree' . Don't see much of documented similar feelings shared by those still continue travel in sleeper / general class. Perhaps, they think only of the comforts of AC, deferential treatment etc. a few others get at higher class and just jealous-blind to see the beauty right there. Besides, who bound the free will, as felt in the comment of Umesh, to travel in the class where lively chat and comforts one would find? The company policies and the class conscience built around that?

Nevertheless, it was nice to read this piece of writing for its lucid style, vivid and picturesque narration.

@Dave, Thanks for your comments! I guess with most things in life, we see beauty and pleasure only in hindsight. The fun of those train journeys was not just about the trains but the context of those journeys, perhaps, as seen now... the carefree life, the company of one's friends, the willingness to be adventurous... It does not mean the current context is any less enjoyable, it is just different. We don't often have time to even get nostalgic about our past, my long journey gave me the opportunity :-).

Hope to write more, about train journeys and friends and more.

Rao - enjoyed your train stories. How about one on the 'plague' experience? I am sure there was a train journey involved too....
Hey there, I'm looking for a good Coffee Maker that can also do frothed milk so I can top in on my capuccino. What do you suggest is a good coffee maker? -Tanya Bayo