One Month Later

Two months ago, I wrote about a change of direction in my career / life and about a month ago, I became unemployed (self-employed sounds better, no?). Here is a brief checkin of the first month. I am writing this for two reasons: one, some of my friends / colleagues wanted to hear about and (perhaps) learn from my experiences; and two, this helps me clear any self-doubts about how I am using my time.


A quick note about my routine - there isn't any. A major reason for my career shift was to enable flexibility and spontaneity, therefore, I don't want to tie myself to any rigid routine.

1. As I wrote earlier, I am continuing to do advisory work for Tata Communications, so that kept me occupied for several days. I am developing an interesting Leadership Development program for senior leaders there, so that's a new, exciting space of work. I have just finished writing a strategy case study for this program.

2. I have re-started my efforts to improve physical fitness. A look at my Foursquare checkins indicates that I played tennis a few times and ran/swam occasionally. Blame it on the rain in August; will pick up pace now.

3. A few hours were spent with three different groups discussing their specific business issues. I can't solve business problems in 1-2 sessions but guiding them towards identifying / analysing the situation & alternatives was interesting. I should spend more time in this area in future.

4. Photography took a back-seat this month, partly due to the rains (again) and mostly due to my laziness. I don't need to travel far to get interesting photo shoot opportunities - just get out more often with the camera. 

5. I spent more time at home / with the family than ever before. Nothing like it.

6. Being self-employed comes with its own admin requirements, so those need to be sorted out. I am beginning to be more conscious of my finances than before... just increased awareness of one's spending patterns helps evaluate, prioritise and optimise expenses. Also, there is a need to simplify (reduce the clutter of activities) and automate (use the Internet / technology to perform routine or repeat activities).

That sums up my first month's report. I don't intend to share updates monthly (phew!)... Next maybe at the beginning of 2014.

The defining moment of last month happened every morning when I checked my phone out of habit: 0 Unread emails in the Inbox. What a way to start the day!